The Luxury Experience

26Sep06

More good news for tea. This time it’s from from Leesburg Today, the journal of Loudoun County, VA.

“It’s the pyramid bags that make the luxury experience complete,” Ramberg said. “Serious tea drinkers are attracted to packaging and products that emphasize the inherent grace in a cup of tea.”

I know packaging is very important. But are serious tea drinkers really that attracted to packaging and gracefulness? Maybe its just me, but I would have thought the “serious” ones would rather taste a great tea that was stored in a brown paper bag rather than a mediocre one in a beautiful pyramid sachet.

I think a blind taste test is in order!

5 Responses to “The Luxury Experience”

  1. “Maybe its just me, but I would have thought the “serious” ones would rather taste a great tea that was stored in a brown paper bag rather than a mediocre one in a beautiful pyramid sachet.”

    That makes the two of us. I agree. It’s a strange thing in the tea industry: the real deal doesn’t usually come nicely packaged (or packaged at all)…I’m always under the impression that the better packaged teas are just more razzle-dazzle than substance (I only know of a few exceptions).

  2. I better clarify what I meant by “better packaged” as razzle-dazzle. I meant those supermarket tin-canned teas with designer labels and flowery descriptions, including nutritional facts of how healthy this tea is. ECGC and polyphenol stuff printed everywhere. Or those that come in gift boxes with ribbons and such…

  3. Phyll,

    Thanks for the comment. Totally agree! I know exactly what you mean by razzle-dazzle packaging! Packaging (of any food) needs to get straight to the point without too much flowery language. After all, it’s what’s inside that counts.

  4. We can tell someone how great the product is but it has to be eye catching to get them to even try it. Once that is clear I am sure they wouldn’t mind the brown paper bag. (then they can transfer into their “razzel dazzel can” each time afte ther brown paper is brought home.

    Just a thought.

  5. Bonnie,

    Thanks for stopping by! And thank you for the comment. You raise an excellent point. As I said in my post, I think packaging is very important. And it needs to be eye catching to stand out in store shelves. I think we can all agree on that.

    I think the point Phyll and I were agreeing on was the fact that “serious” tea drinkers probably don’t buy most of their “serious” tea from mass-market stores full of nicely packaged (but often, mediocre) tea. So when they eventually find a tea they like, they’re probably so happy that they won’t care too much about the packaging.

    Of course, this begs the question – what makes someone a “serious” tea drinker? But that’s fodder for another post!


Leave a Reply

