Calm-A-Sutra

05May07

Sexually suggestive moniker aside, the Calm-A-Sutra of Tea is a “nationwide search for the most unique and creative way to drink tea and to further educate the public on the health benefits of drinking tea, specifically black, green, white and oolong tea, which are all from the Camellia sinensis plant” [details of the contest on teausa.org]

Prizes include:

  • $20,000 in scholarships
  • An all expenses paid trip to New York City
  • An appearance on CBS
  • Afternoon tea at a trendy NYC tea salon

Well, it appears that American Idol runner up Justin Guarini is the Kama Sutra spokesman (I mean Calm-A-Sutra…I’ll never get that down) for the Tea Association. Here’s what he had to say:

As a singer, drinking hot tea has served as an essential part of my daily vocal warm-up routine,” said Justin Guarini. “In addition to the fact that tea is an overall healthy beverage, I’m really proud to be working with the Tea Council in support of education in America.

Good on you Justin. For those of you (and me) who don’t share America’s fascination with American Idol and aren’t familiar with Justin’s body of work, here’s a clip of him performing My Funny Valentine. In case this rendition of a jazz standard does not please your sensitive, musically inclined ears, another performance is available immediately below this one:

As promised, here’s another version, with Chet Baker and Stan Getz.

No offense to Justin, but that just felt so much better.

So here’s my take on all this – anything that encourages people to drink tea is okay in my book. I’m glad that the tea industry is working on putting tea in the mainstream, even if it means using quasi-celebrities to do the job. After all, why should the tea elite have all the fun? Yes, this may lead to the increased popularity of such concoctions as cranberry-peach-green-lemon-lime-pineapple-blossom-chai-tea-lattes (gasp!) proliferating at your local supermarket, but at the end of the day, if even a couple of people take the time to learn a bit more about tea as a result, we’ll have more converts. So thats a good thing. Right? I’d like to think so.

3 Responses to “Calm-A-Sutra”

  1. 1 Mahala

    Justin Guarini! I LOVE him! If he’s going to be the national rep for tea, I’m going to start drinking tea! He’s kama … oops I mean CALM-A Sutra, delicious! And I mean that in every sense of the word.

    Too bad you had to snark on him, I would have started ordering my tea over the internet from your site if you hadn’t. Instead I’ll just go somewhere else to do that.

    But thanks for the vid! and Justin mention, always appreciated. He’s wonderful (and oh, also, a really nice guy who doesn’t deserve the snark)!

  2. 2 Nikhil

    Thanks for the comment Mahala.

    A good natured snark – no malice towards Justin intended. In fact, I’m very pleased he is doing this – hence the post. I’m sure Justin is extremely talented, and a very nice guy, but I just didn’t like My Funny Valentine. My personal, and humble opinion.

    See – it’s working already – now you’re going to go out and buy some tea (albeit not from me, but that’s okay 🙂 ). More kudos to Justin.


  1. 1 Oolong on Mondays « Tea. Uncomplicated

Leave a Reply

