Napa Weekend

29May07

Spent a lovely day in the Napa Valley this weekend with the family. Brilliant weather, and lots (lots) of wine and cheese.

My favorite vineyard: Chateau Montelena, the place that took the French by surprise and started California’s wine revolution.

At every vineyard we visited, I couldn’t help but think about the potential of Darjeeling turning into India’s Napa of tea. Before this trip, I had grandiose ideas about Darjeeling, Assam and the Nilgiris developing their tourism industry further, much like the way Napa and Sonoma have brilliantly marketed themselves through the efforts of Mondavi, et. al. There’s no doubting the enormous revenue they could generate, along with plenty of much needed local employment.

Now I have mixed feelings about it. There’s something to be said for a place not being over-run by tourists (even though I was among them this weekend). There’s a balance to be found somewhere, and I intend to find it. I just don’t know how yet.

Sauvignon Blanc

2 Responses to “Napa Weekend”

  1. 1 Phyll

    Nice! Any particular wine that impressed you while you were in Napa?

  2. Hey Phyll – well, I tried a LOT of wine that tasted really yummy 🙂

    If I were to pick one that really stood out, it would probably be this Cab from V. Sattui (between the four of us, we went through two bottles!) I’m not even going to attempt to describe it, other than to say I found it quite fruity, not too complex, and definitely very easy to drink.

    The experience of drinking this wine was undoubtedly enhanced by the fact that it was a gorgeous day, and we were sitting on the grass, under a tree, and sipping it with brie, a loaf of french bread and my family.


Leave a Reply

