Are The Health Benefits of Tea Exaggerated?

11Nov08

One of my pet peeves is the barrage of advertisements I see on the web for “Amazing Fat Loss Oolong Tea” or “How I Lost 55 lbs With Oolong” or, the most egregious: “Drop 3 Clothes Sizes Fast And Easy! 2 day tea diet. 100% Authentic or Money Back Guarantee.”

Deceptive advertising for weight loss

Tea advertising. Fact or Deception?

The advertising must be working, because I have been asked on more than one occasion: “Do you guys sell that weight loss tea I keep hearing about?” or “Does tea really prevent cancer?”

Now, I have no idea if a tea actually exists that can miraculously reduce my waist size by multiples of 3 (if such a tea exists, I will gladly buy it now), but there seem to be plenty of reasons to be just a little doubtful whether the claim is weight loss or cancer prevention.

From The New York Times:

The promise, researchers say, stems from the tea’s polyphenols, which are powerful antioxidants that studies have shown can inhibit the growth of cancer cells in animals. But the evidence has been sparse when researchers have tried to determine if the findings carry over into humans. Results so far are mixed, at best. But the evidence over all is such that the Food and Drug Administration refused this year to let green tea producers place statements about cancer-fighting properties on their packages.

Last year, the UK Tea Council was reprimanded for a misleading poster:

…while there was some scientific evidence that tea may protect against cancer and heart disease, the findings had yet to be confirmed in tests on humans.

And back in 2002, a well known tea company got into a spot of trouble because:

…it said tea also contained “essential nutrients” such as potassium, riboflavin and vitamin B6. However, many of these nutrients do not come from the tea – but from the milk commonly added to it instead.

I am aware that I am probably bucking the trend here. As a marketer of tea, shouldn’t I get on my soapbox and push the health benefits of tea to the maximum extent possible? After all, study after study indicate yet more evidence of tea’s beneficial role. Yes, I know the studies are promising, and I believe that there are plenty of very real health benefits from drinking tea. But even the experts acknowledge that their studies are encouraging, but not conclusive. So next time you encounter some “irrefutable” or “100% guaranteed” claim that tea can help you lose 55lbs, or prevent you from getting cancer, a healthy dose of skepticism may be just what the doctor ordered.

I don’t know about you, but I tend to find tea to be much more appealing when I think of it as a delicious drink to be savored rather than as a medicine to be endured.



72 Responses to “Are The Health Benefits of Tea Exaggerated?”

  1. As a marketer of tea, you should be honest, and it sounds like that’s exactly what you’re doing. I’ve always been a little skeptical of the huge health claims put on tea and have always drank it for the flavor. If I live to be 500 years old, I’ll consider that a nice side benefit. When I was doing STeaP, I never wanted to push the health claims all that much since it all seemed very circumstantial.

    Of course, if most people switched from soft drinks to unsweetened tea, that 55 lbs weight loss may not seem so crazy after all. 🙂

  2. @Joe Skeptics unite! Incidentally, I no longer drink carbonated soft drinks — but that darn 55 lbs still refuses to leave 🙂

  3. @Nikhil – I’m right there with you. I drink at least a cup of tea a day and usually 4-5 (no additives) and I haven’t seen any weight-loss going on here. 😛

    Even if tea doesn’t have physical health benefits, for those of us that sit and really enjoy a cup of tea, there’s definitely a mental health benefit. Stress relief at its best!

  4. @MandyBee – I agree. It makes me feel better, and that’s all the scientific evidence I need!

  5. Wait? It’s not a miracle cure? Shoot.

    Seriously, I too have a hard time with those claims. I am often debunking them – ie sending them to proper research and explaining that tea has no calories aside from the sweetner (but how many people ALWAYS skip the tea and/or milk in their average cuppa?).

    That’s why I believe tea should taste good, even if it’s good for you.

  6. I think that the health benefits are great in regards to antioxidants, minerals and other proteins that benefit the body, however I do not believe it could magically cause weight loss, without doing any exercise or food restrictions, it just doesn’t happen!

  7. Great post. There is a lot of misinformation surrounding tea, particularly in relation to how it can impact on weight loss. From what I understand, you need to drink an awful lot of tea before it starts making a dent in your weight.

    There have been studies on humans on how tea fights heart disease. This page has a good, very scholarly outline of which claims about tea have evidence to back them up: http://lpi.oregonstate.edu/infocenter/phytochemicals/tea/.

    Whether it’s weight loss, heart disease or cancer, I think the number one trap people can fall into is seeing tea as the cure. I think it can be part of the cure, but chances are that other things in your lifestyle need to change as well.

  8. Personally i feel that there are some benefits to drinking tea but most companies tend to exaggerate them to boost sales.

  9. It’s simple. Tea needs to be combined with a healthy lifestyle. When this is done the miracle stories do happen in real life. I weighed at one point 198 lbs. When I quit drinking alcohol I didn’t get all the extra calories anymore. I switched to tea right away for my everyday drink so it was a part of what I was doing. Today, 3-4 years later, I weigh 130 lbs and have a flat belly. I am on a calorie-restricted diet now and have never felt better. I also drink copious amounts of tea. Is there a connection? You bet. Tea’s health benefits are only inconclusive for those people who aren’t willing to take care of their health in a holistic way. –Jason

  10. Hi there mates, its wonderful article on the topic
    of cultureand entirely explained, keep it up all the time.

  11. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed!
    Very useful info specifically the remaining part 🙂 I
    take care of such information much. I used to be looking for
    this particular information for a very lengthy time. Thanks and good luck.

  12. This is the right website for anyone who would like to find
    out about this topic. You realize so much its almost tough to argue with
    you (not that I personally would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a brand
    new spin on a topic that’s been written about for years. Excellent stuff, just great!

  13. A golden key can be used to open a special loot chest found within the in-game city of Sanctuary.
    What’s more, having electronic access to outpatient records online makes it possible for hospital-based clinicians, such as emergency department physicians, to make the most appropriate care decisions when patients present for treatment. Is this a sign of a future threat in London in 2012.

  14. Hi, Neat post. There’s a problem with your site in web explorer, could check
    this? IE nonetheless is the market chief and a good portion
    of other people will pass over your fantastic writing because of this problem.

  15. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long
    as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?
    My blog site is in the very same niche as yours and my users would definitely benefit from a lot
    of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this okay with you.

    Appreciate it!

  16. Juust want to say your article is ass astounding. The clearness in your submit is just sppectacular and that i could assume you are an expert on this
    subject. Welll along with your permission let me to eize your RSS feed
    to keep updated with impending post. Thank you a million and please carry on the gratifying work.

  17. I was recommended this web site through my cousin. I’m no
    longer positive whether or not this submit is written by way of
    him as no one else recognize such specified about my problem.

    You are incredible! Thank you!

  18. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having problems locating itt but, I’d like to shoot you an email.

    I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might bee interested in hearing.
    Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it drvelop
    over time.

  19. The Paleo Diet can be more restrictive diet than regular gluten and dairy free diets.
    The Japanese speaking searchers spent 43% of their 391 thousand searches looking for specific gluten free foods.

    The author of this GFP article loves fruit and realises that this affair was
    fostered in childhood where his father grew many varieties of fruit
    trees in his home yard.

  20. My partner and I stumbled over here different page and thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to finding out about your web page for a second time.

  21. I blog frequently and I really thank you for your information.
    This great article has truly peaked my interest.

    I will book mark your blog and keep checking for new details about once
    a week. I subscribed to your RSS feed too.

  22. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was once a amusement account it.

    Glance complicated to far delivered agreeable from you!

    However, how could we be in contact?

  23. It’s remarkable to go to see this website and reading the views of all friends
    about this paragraph, while I am also eager of getting familiarity.

  24. I’ve learn a few good stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting.

    I wonder how a lot effort you set to create
    the sort of fantastic informative site.

  25. Everything is very open with a very clear clarification of the
    issues. It was definitely informative. Your site is very useful.
    Thank you for sharing!

  26. I’m really loving the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run into
    any internet browser compatibility problems? A small number of my blog readers have complained about my blog not operating
    correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any ideas to help fix this
    issue?

  27. Meczu nie oglądałem, ale zerknąłem na livescore.

  28. Livescores have produced a fantastic app.

  29. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who was doing a little homework on this.
    And he actually ordered me breakfast due to the
    fact that I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So let me reword this….
    Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to talk about this subject here
    on your site.

  30. Thanks for every other fantastic post. The place else may anybody
    get that type of info in such an ideal method of writing?
    I have a presentation next week, and I am on the search
    for such information.

  31. Every weekend i used to visit this web site, for the reason that i want enjoyment, as this this web site conations truly nice funny stuff too.

  32. An intriguing discussion is worth comment. I think that you need to publish more
    on this subject matter, it might not be a taboo subject but generally
    folks don’t talk about such issues. To the next!
    Best wishes!! https://anunturi-parbrize.ro/parbriz-iveco-31.html

  33. You will іnstantly bе shown fгee of charge lіve sex cɑms.

  34. Ridiсulkus quest there. Wһatt hapрened aftеr? Good luck!

  35. 35 Iris

    Ꭺll videos are hosted bby 3rd party sites.


  1. 1 health benefits of acai
  2. 2 lose weight
  3. 3 Click To See More
  4. 4 buy Ltc with credit Card instant
  5. 5 buy bitcoins with Credit card eu
  6. 6 order rejuvius
  7. 7 how to earn bitcoin free online in india
  8. 8 healthcare jobs
  9. 9 banking transactions safe
  10. 10 low cost divorce in pa
  11. 11 ford focus performance
  12. 12 aarp united healthcare insurance providers
  13. 13 Interim Management ASEAN
  14. 14 how much is divorce in pa
  15. 15 Ugly House Buyer
  16. 16 tech blogs hn
  17. 17 access control tcp/ip
  18. 18 How to become famous in school
  19. 19 fiber connectors
  20. 20 non invasive eye treatment
  21. 21 Cable Assembly
  22. 22 Pennsylvania Divorces
  23. 23 income properties charlotte
  24. 24 masterful Thinking
  25. 25 Emma Email Marketing App
  26. 26 hr staffing Ratio benchmarks
  27. 27 top sushi
  28. 28 wheel Drives
  29. 29 메이저 놀이터
  30. 30 www.topfind.de
  31. 31 fx분석
  32. 32 프리서버
  33. 33 songe.project.free.fr
  34. 34 Coastalwiki.Piratelab.Org
  35. 35 m88
  36. 36 Coaching program
  37. 37 Forex trading Hours close

Leave a comment